The Youth Affairs Council of Western Australia (YACWA) is the peak non-government youth organisation in Western Australia. We operate primarily as a human rights organisation that seeks to address the exclusion of young people in a rapidly changing society.

Our vision for Western Australia is one that celebrates and engages young people in all aspects of the community. Our role is to strengthen the trust, cooperation, collaboration; professionalism and voice of the non-government youth service sector to better serve the young people of Western Australia.

YACWA aims to provide a united, independent and active advocate for the non-government youth sector and young people that is both supported and respected by the sector and the wider community. Focusing on young people’s varied needs at local, State and Federal Government level, YACWA works to engender and enhance positive community attitudes towards young people.

YACWA provides a voice and acts as a role model for the definition and demonstration of youth participation. Our work is governed by four guiding principles of respect, equity, integrity and the celebration of diversity.

Our Staff

Ross Wortham – CEO
Lianda Gibson – Project Manager
Josh Cunniffe – Senior Policy Officer
Anania Tagaro– YEP Project Officer
Guarav Singh – Finance and Administration Manager
Carla Ormsby – Manager, Marketing & Events
Sara Shengeb – MYANWA Project Support Officer
Tamkin Essa  – MYANWA Project Support Officer
Charlotte Glance – YDAN Project Officer
Kylie Hansen – Consultant, Strategic Policy Specialist

Our Board

Penny Webb – YACWA Chairperson
Kelly Clark – Vice Chairperson, under 25
Karina Chicote – Secretary
Katie Liew – Treasurer
Andrew Wenzel – Ordinary Board Director
Georgie Carey – Ordinary Board Director, under 25
John Thomson – Ordinary Board Director
Katherine Browne – Ordinary Board Director
Sandra Spadanuda – Ordinary Board Director
Ayden Mackenzie – Ordinary Board Director, co-opted
Vik Jeyakumar – Ordinary Board Director, co-opted
Ross Wortham – CEO and Ordinary Board Director, ex officio